Sign in with
Your question

GA EP45-UD3P restarts when trying to load windows

Last response: in Motherboards
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
January 8, 2009 7:01:55 AM

Hi-
I'm fairly new at this, but have run in to a problem building my new system. Here's what I have:
Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P
Intel Quad 6600
Crucial 2 X 2 GB (Installed in slots 1&3) - 1.8V
SATA DVD
IDE HD (from older computer)
Antec smart power 350W
Windows XP Home

The problem is I can't load Windows. The system posts; then after the screen that says Verifying DMI Pool Data, the screen goes blank (or will occasionally see a quick flash) and then restarts.

The hard drive is working fine - if placed back in the old system boots without a problem. I even tried to repair the boot sector - still does the same thing. The hard drive is recognized by the BIOS.

Any ideas would be appreciated. I'd love to start using this system!! Thanks
January 8, 2009 7:59:00 AM

I might be wrong, but your PSU might be a bit under powered?
The CPU has to start doing some work, as well as the HDD when Windoze starts to load, so that would increase the power consumption.

On the other hand, Windows might not like your new system. What are the specs of the old system?
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
January 8, 2009 8:19:52 AM

Maybe I'll try a different PSU just to see - would be an easy fix if that;s the problem. I was trying to find the recommended minimum PSU for the MB but couldn't find it in the gigabyte documentation.

Curious why you think Windows doesn't like the new system. Shouldn't windows work on any system (or at least try to start up)? Old system was ASUS P4S8X with a P4 2.4 Ghz, 512 RAM. Same PSU.

BTW - I'll occasionally get the option to start in safe mode, etc. The only thing that actually looks like it does anything before it restarts is safe mode with command prompt - it will scroll through a page or so of commands, pause, then restart. Just in case that helps...
Related resources
January 8, 2009 8:38:07 AM