Sign in with
Your question

Core i7 920 Hyper-threading VS. Overclocking

Last response: in Overclocking
December 17, 2009 12:47:56 PM

Hello,

I'm a noob who is about to attempt an overclock on my Core i7 920. I understand that before I get started, the Turbo-boost mode and Hyper-threading features must be disabled. I don't care too much about turbo-boost but I do like hyper-threading and the option of having 8 processing threads.

Is having an overlocked i7 running at 3.8 GHz a significant improvement in performance over having a stock 8-threaded core running at 2.6 GHz? Or is there a way I can have an overclocked CPU and have hyper-threading running at the same time?

---

Another question that just popped up, when I overclock too hard and I get BSODs, is that in anyway doing harm to my hardware? Or is it safe? Thanks.
a b K Overclocking
December 17, 2009 2:24:30 PM

Yes turn off turbo and hyper threading. When you get a stable overclock then try experimenting with turning HT on.
m
l
December 18, 2009 4:28:16 PM

Quote:
Turn off turbo but leave HT on. Overclocking the 920 is as easy as 3 bios changes

I can leave HT on? Are you sure? What speed were you able to obtain?
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
December 18, 2009 5:47:37 PM

Speed is much more important than threads. There are not very many programs that will run on 8 threads.

IMHO it would be better to run with out HT on. You will be able to get a higher speed.
m
l
December 18, 2009 9:41:09 PM

overshocked said:
Speed is much more important than threads. There are not very many programs that will run on 8 threads.

IMHO it would be better to run with out HT on. You will be able to get a higher speed.

That depends on the application. For gaming alone, HT off is a good idea, but for anything like video encoding or any number of professional applications that use additional threads, HT on is a good idea. I have HT on, and I love it.