Sign in with
Your question

Monitors for primarily photo editing/ secondary gaming

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 12, 2008 5:03:43 AM

Hi,
I did a number of searches on this website and forum to find existing information, but nothing valid came up under my search. Im a photographer, and im looking for a preferably wide screen monitor that i can use for both accurate photo editing and serious gaming.

I currently have a Syncmaster 970p. im interested in upgrading my monitor. I have considered an apple flat screen monitor, but they cost over twice as much as a comparable LCD.

any suggestions? thanks!

sorry if this was in the wrong forum, it seemed to be the most applicable.
October 12, 2008 5:19:59 AM

http://accessories.dell.com/sna/products/Monitors/produ...
DELL UltraSharp 2408WFP 24-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
699.99 canadian price (wont let me go to US)
this monitor can get good color reproduction without calibration

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
SAMSUNG 245T-BLACK Black 24" 6ms (GTG) HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 DC 1500:1 (1000:1) - Retail

both should be fine for gaming

you can go here
http://www.anandtech.com/displays/showdoc.aspx?i=3302

to get more info on each of the screens and to get a list of more screens including 30" models and 27" models

Related resources
October 14, 2008 1:40:29 AM

Thank you for your replies. So i have narrowed it down between the apple 23" and the Dell Ultrasharp 2408. any thoughts?
a c 359 U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
a c 195 C Monitor
October 14, 2008 7:39:30 AM

I recommend the HP LP2475W which; like the Apple 23" monitor; uses a S-IPS panel and is sold for around $600 - $650. It also has less input lag for gaming than the Dell 2408WFP (revision A00). The newer Dell 2408WFP (revision A01) is said to be faster than the older A00 (according to Dell), but I haven't seen any test results.