Sulaco99

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2008
Okay, so it's my first time trying to build my own PC. Probably my last one too! It's been a frustrating experience so far.

Anyway, I want to boot my new machine into Windows XP with the SATA C: I took out of my old Pentium 4 Dell. Each time, I get an error telling me I've got an unmountable boot volume.

I read that this error may have to do with the UMDA settings in my BIOS, but I tried all the options, both MDA and UMDA, and that doesn't appear to be it.

I can't get it to boot from CD/DVD either. My machine recognizes the disk, but when I tried booting up with a Windows XP startup disk I downloaded (the original CD wasn't included with my machine) I get an error that hal.dll is missing or corrupted. I also tried installing Ubuntu Linux. That seemed to go okay at first, but then it gave me a lot of error messages, and it would not boot into Ubuntu. I even tried installing Ubuntu onto a spare IDE hard drive from my laptop, and installing that drive into my new machine as C:. My desktop wouldn't even recognize the drive as bootable.

Tried booting from a flash drive too. No luck.

I think this may have to do with the fact that I haven't loaded my motherboard drivers yet. However, since my desktop won't boot into Windows or the driver CD (I'm not sure if it's even bootable) I have no idea how to get the drivers installed. I can't even get a c: prompt.

Please help! Here are my stats:

MSI K9A2 mobo
AMD Phenom 9950 cpu
4G DDR2 Super Talent RAM
500 watt power supply

masterclam

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008