Sign in with
Your question

New GeForce 9600 GSO = high pitch buzzing?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 12, 2008 7:56:33 PM

I just got a brand new eVGA GeForce 9600 GSO, plugged it in and noticed when anything comes on the screen and is active I get a high pitch buzzing sound. Sounds electrical but similar to a very active very small hard drive. Has anyone encountered something similar, I am about to RMA it but I need to do some testing first.

For example if I scroll a web page it buzzes as a scroll.
a c 130 U Graphics card
October 12, 2008 8:06:17 PM

We had a similar post before, Its probably a transistor/capacitor resonating. Has been known to be a fan rubbing on the cover. However as it seems affected by you scrooling it would sugest electrical issues and some sort of interferance, Is your mouse wireless ? Im not an engineer but i think its possable that whatever is resonating has inadvertantly fell into sync with some other component on the PC and is causing some kind of feedback. Personally i would RMA the card.

Mactronix
October 12, 2008 9:45:13 PM

mine makes a quiet squeal when something graphically intensive happens. But during those parts of games i have the volume blasting anyway so i can't really hear it. Have you checked the fan blades for loose stickers or tape?

Related resources
a b U Graphics card
October 12, 2008 10:39:22 PM

you can always open the card and see if anything is possible blocking/touching the fan.
a b U Graphics card
October 12, 2008 10:47:34 PM

Just installed a EVGA 9600GSO last week in a system, no buzzing, no squealing, no problems at all. RMA that sucker.
October 13, 2008 3:22:42 PM