Sign in with
Your question

I need help picking a good PSU

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
September 18, 2008 9:13:04 AM

Hi all. I am building my first PC and need some help here. I have no clue on what kind of power supply unit to get. here's my build so far.

Win Vista 64-bit
1 ASUS Striker II Extreme
1 Intel Core 2 Duo E8600
2 OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) for 8g total
2 PNY VCG98GX2XPB-OC GeForce 9800 GX2

http://secure.newegg.com/Shopping/ShoppingCart.aspx?Sub...

I'm basically wondering how many watts I should be looking at, brand names and features I should be looking for would help too. I do plan on over clocking eventually. But going to be running on a fan/heatsink configuration. Also was wondering if I should be looking at SLI certified PSU's and if they take advantage of the cards power management features (or is that something to do with the GPU, IDK) as the EPP RAM do. I am an extreme novice, so any help would be great :) . Any suggestions for case that has good air circulation and will fit the monsterous GPU's, optical drive and HDD would be great as well.

Thanks,
Airik

More about : picking good psu

September 18, 2008 10:31:10 AM

Case: Antec 900 very good air circulation

PSU: If u dont want modular get the Corsair 750 TX if yes to modular (cables can be removed) get a Thermaltake 750/850 just make sure they have a 6 and 8 pin PCIE connector
Related resources
September 18, 2008 5:16:59 PM

Silverion77 said:
Case: Antec 900 very good air circulation

PSU: If u dont want modular get the Corsair 750 TX if yes to modular (cables can be removed) get a Thermaltake 750/850 just make sure they have a 6 and 8 pin PCIE connector