Need help with my Home work

sm0ke

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2007
It'll be greatly appretiated if I can recieve help with, these two questions I cant figure out. Im majoring in Computer Networking Administration, and the class thats resposible for these questions is my Windows Client class. Thanks again in advanced.

Question 5:

You are configuring three new laptops for members of your sales staff. The three laptops are arrayed across your workbench and plugged into your network through a small switch. They are identical in model and hardware configuration. You have installed a copy of Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 on each of the laptops, given each a unique name, and added them to your domain. You have just finished running Windows Update on each machine and have transferred a basic utility package used on all corporate machines from your desktop to each new laptop. An assistant is about to undertake the task of pushing each salesman’s individual data from their old machines to these new ones. You e-mail your assistant the machine names and instructions on how to complete her task. After a few minutes, your assistant arrives at your desk and reports that the new laptops must be malfunctioning. She was preparing to push data to the laptops and checked connectivity prior to the move when she noticed that the three laptops were not responding to a ping test. She has come to your desk to ask if you might have turned them off. You look at the laptops and all three are running. You are able to access a share on your desktop and the Internet from all three, and can ping your desktop from each laptop. However, as your assistant reported, you cannot ping any of the laptops from your desktop. What is the problem?

Question 2: