How to use a western digital external hard drive to back up my pc hard drive

elj9202

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2010
Hello,
I have a wd3200me. How do I use it to back up my entire hard drive. I am a novice so I need step by step.

elel

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2009
Another good one is clonezila. This is a free live CD which you burn and then boot from. It will make an image of your hard drive onto the external drive, backing up all files. You will not be able to browse the backup, but if your computer ever crashes you will be able to restore the computer to exactly the same state as when you last backed it up.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
Another option is to make a CLONE of your hard drive, not really a "backup" in the usual sense. A clone is a complete and exact copy of your entire disk. However, unlike good backup software, you cannot easily update a clone to reflect recent changes. Your only choice is to completely re-make the clone which takes time and really should NOT be done in the background while you're doing other tasks.

Geofelt suggested this when he / she said "Acronis True Image". As an alternative to the free trial Geofelt mentioned, go to the WD website and download / install their free package called Acronis True Image WD Edition. It is a free version of Acronis, customized and limited on one important way. It will only make a clone TO a WD disk. So, making a clone to your WD external will work. BUT if you ever have to recover and must try to clone BACK to your main internal HDD, that would only work IF that drive also is by WD. If that is NOT your case, get the Acronis free trial version that is not limited in that way.