Can you please help review my first compelete build?

ninjairoc

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2008
Hi everyone, i'm new to Tom's Hardware, but it seems like the place to be, having a solid, knowledgeable body of members. I'm a DIY type of guy and I want my next computer to be home built. I've compared the prices in building your own and ordering a pre-built from a company such as Dell or Gateway. You get so much more for your money and can customize so many more features, when doing it yourself.

My current computer is a Dell 8300 that i've had for almost 6 years now. I have had to replace the video card and the power supply over the years, and I have also added some more RAM. I do some gaming but my current comp is not that great for running games on high settings. My main use for the computer is high resolution photo editing, as I am a photographer. I process large .RAW and .tiff files that consume lots of processing power. I run Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, After Effects and Illustrator. I am going to be getting into video and Final Cut Pro soon.

I'd really like to build a sweet rig, that is open to upgrading in the future. I would like to be able to handle all my photographic work, plus high end gaming. I have never overclocked my PC, but have read some on the topic and am willing to try it in the future. I'm hoping to order the parts to build my first ground up PC in the next week or so.

So Here is my list of components:

-ABS Aplus ABS-CS-Monolith Black SECC Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

-Intel BOXDX48BT2 LGA 775 Intel X48 ATX DDR3 Intel Motherboard

-Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.0GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80569Q9650

-Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

-Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit (256-bit x 2) GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card

-Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive