Sign in with
Your question

How do you compare speeds of SSD to hard drive?

Last response: in Storage
February 23, 2010 3:40:39 PM

I'm a tech newb and I'm trying to compare SSD and Hard drive speeds on new egg.

It seems Hard Drives are measures by:

- RPM (5400, 5900, 7200, 10000, 15000)
- Averager Seek Time (2.58ms, 3.0ms, 3.6ms ect)
- Averager Write Time (3.9ms ect)
- Latency (2ms ect)

Whild SSD's are measured by:

- Sequential Access - Write (600mb/s ect)
- Read: (Up to 870mb/s ect)
- Write: (Up to 780mb/s ect)

I don't get how to compare them. Hard drive is measured in MS, while SSD is measured in MB? Is there a common category to compare anyways? Bottom line I just wanna see which is faster. Thanks.
a c 353 G Storage
February 23, 2010 3:45:18 PM

SSD's are WAAAYYY faster.
What you need to look at for the operating system/program boot disk is the 4 K random read/writes. The link I provided (pg 22) has a chart - NOTE machanical HDDs can not even compete. Best SSD is like 40 times faster with the poorer ones around 13x faster!! For Storage of large files (ie Video (dot vobs ect and large jpeg files Pictures) Size is more important from a cost standpoint. also the difference for seq read/writes is not as great as the 4k random.

Good read
http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3631&p=...

The main thing is the access time; SSd's around 0.1 mSec while HDDs are from 9 to 12 mSec. This is why the 4K random read/writes is so much faster.

Bottem Line: For a Boot disk you want a SSD (For Operating system and programs) for performance, coupled with a mechanical HDD for storage for your files.
m
l
February 23, 2010 4:01:49 PM

Slow down cowboy! My pee sized brain is absorbing all that information!