Sign in with
Your question

Working at home via a computer?

Tags:
Last response: in General UK & Ireland Discussions
August 9, 2010 3:04:18 AM

Hi, i've not got any training as such, all my experiences with computers have been mostly self taught- and the accumulation of trial and error, however i am interested in computers generally: hardware and such and also i'd like to get more out of computers. Up to now most of my experience has revolved around gaming so has been forcibly made to include light work with routers and ports and such and also the more physical side of building and replacing components for friends, family and of course myself. I'm pretty sure we have all had to solve a few viral issues here and there with computers also, though this seems less like a skill and more like a pre requisite for dealing with a windows based system.

I say the above to provide some background with regard my level of experience, but basically my problem is this: this year i was diagnosed with Crohn's disease and made redundant in the same week, which very much sucked. Since this time finances have been a bit sad and i am forced to recognise that my ability to work is going to fluctuate. The only way i feel i can have a secure income is if i'm working from home hence my topic. I am hoping to find some sort of computer focused job wherein i could work primarily from home and still provide myself a reasonable income.

I lack qualifications with anything technological, i have always been more active in the jobs i have had before now so i expect to have to study. Studying isn't a problem, though the shortest route to a degree of financial freedom is the most ideal, as my opportunities to study would increase as my financial situation improved. I'm a UK resident, so if you just read this and you are American, I apologise- but thanks anyway- and I'm from the South East of England if that's relevant for any northerners who had any good ideas restricted by geography...