Max memory question

bmead144

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2009
Hi all. Noob here and my 1st question on this board. Have a dell Inpiron 531 ( ok so I'm not a gamer/power user). I can just imagine what some may be thinking! :non: But hey it's alright for some light office multi tasking and general web surfing, isn'i it? Cpu's a athlon 64 x2 5000+.Chipset's nVIDIA mcp61.I have a dedicated video card, so not using the onboard graphics. I just installed vista business x64. Every source I've been able to find states that max memory is 4GB(4 x 1GB DIMMS).But this pc came oe with vista 32bit so I'm wondering since I'm now running x64 OS whether or not I'm still relegated to the 4GB. From what I've been able to ascertain,this is depedant on several factors(mobo architecture, OS,chipset...etc.) I've thus far been unable to find any relevant info on the mobo or chipset that gives any indication about their respective physical memory limitations. I realize I could 'buy & try', but finances negate that option. I'm wondering if perhaps a free utility to test the system exists? Any way to tell from bios(and if so how?) It's not a 'big deal' but I'd still like to know (if for nothing else than what I can learn in the process). Any really relevant info appreciated.

lusafent

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2009
and why would you need more than 4gb of ram?
also didn't see a reason behind why you needed to upgrade to 64bit either as you didn't provide a solid reason for needing more than 4 gb of ram.

IH8U

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2007
Personnaly, I'd dump the RAM that came with it anyway. Pick up a 4GB set (2x2GB sticks) for about $40 and you'll be set. Honestly I don't see a reason for vista 64 on your system tho. But 4GB will work fine (may not see all 4GB if using a 32bit OS).

Some RAM to look into:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227334
$39 OCZ Fatal1ty
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231122
$40 G.Skill