Sign in with
Your question

Trying to Overclock E6400 (2.1ghz) to 3.2Ghz , Help needed !

Last response: in Overclocking
December 28, 2009 8:14:07 PM

Alright,
Well this is my first time overclocking a cpu, here are my system specs :

MY SYSTEM SPECS :
Motherboard : ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
Power Supply : Antec Earthwatts 500
CPU : Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 ( 2.13Ghz ) stepping 6, revision B2
Heatsink : Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V
Ram : Gskill F2-6400CL4D-4GBPK DDR2-800 / CL4-4-4-12 / 2.0v ~ 2.1v
Graphic Card : NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT
Hard Drives :
1 x WesterDigital WD2500JS ATA 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
1 x WesterDigital WD2500KS ATA 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Power Supply : Antec Smart Power 2.0 SP500 ATX P4 500W 20/24Pin
Case : Antec NSK6500 Mid Tour ( 1 small intake fan in front and 1 big exhaust in back )

RESULTS SO FAR :
Alright so my goal here is to reach 3.2ghz which would allow me to run my ram in synchronious mode ( ram/fsb ratio 1:1 ) ... with stock voltage i was able to reach 2.8ghz stable running orthos for at least 30min without errors. From there what i did was put the fsb to 400 ( 400 x 8 = 3.2ghz ) and raised the voltage of my ram to 2.1v and had to raise voltage of my cpu (vcore) until i was able to enter windows ( initially i wouldnt even get to the POST ) . After trying to run orthos blend a few times it keeps failing, i slowly raised voltage (vcore) and am now at 1.45 and still orthos fails ( although its better now, longest ive run it was 6min without error, but sometimes it can fail within 1 min )

Im not quite sure what to do next... would it be safe to raise voltage again considering im at 1.45 ? are there other things i can tweak to avoid raising voltage without lowering the FSB ?

Using Core Temp I can see my temps at idle are 41-42C , they reached 56C after 6 min of orthos they were at 56C . Note that while in bios the cpu temp being reported are lower, bios says its in the 25-30C range.

SIDE NOTES :
CPU FAN ISSUES :