Is My Southbridge limiting my SSD speed?

Beautiful_Life

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2010
I have a laptop that has the Intel GS45 chipset. 2.4GHz C2D and 2GB Ram.

I've set up everything optimally for my SSD. I don't think there are any tweaks left to be done. All drivers and firmwares are up to date.

Benchmarks are pretty good, and boot time is extremely fast. However one that that puzzles is the speed Photoshops and Firefox takes to launch. From the video's I've seen on youtube, they're pop out in a flash. There are also some of those videos where 60 programs are launched at a time. Never tried it before.

I'm wondering if my I/O controller or southbridge, the Intel ICH9R is the culprit or not? Maybe it's inferior in some ways? I'm pretty new to hardware so please explain abit, thanks.

Do you have your home directory on the SSD or on another drive? Firefox has a lot of cache and configuration files in your home directory that will take longer to load if it's on a standard drive rather than the SSD.

And is Photoshop installed on the SSD?

So how long does it actually take to fire up Photoshop? On my Core i7 920 system running at stock (2.66GHz) speed with an Intel ICH10R chipset and an Intel 160GB G2 SSD running under 64-bit Windows 7, 64-bit Photoshop takes about 3 seconds to start, display the splash screen, load all the plugins, and be ready for action. That's the first start since a cold boot, and it's probably about 2-3X faster than when I had the system on a mechanical hard drive.

As another reference, here's a link to a video I made comparing the times to boot windows and start Firefox between a WD Green drive and the 160GB Intel SSD: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTHX0MqVMss

Beautiful_Life

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2010
2-3 seconds is way shorter than mine.