glcm1961

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2009
I'm a first time builder and have become kinda confused with all the choices for motherboards that are out there. I have done research and have settled on a P45 LGA 775 mobo, and from the reviews I've read, I want to go with either Gigabyte or Asus. I am building a mid-level gaming rig and may someday want to add a second GPU. I have decided to go with either a 4870 or 4850. I may also want to overclock in the future if I get brave enough.

Here is my question: Will an Asus P5Q Pro or Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R (both going for $119) be all I need or should I spend an extra $50 - $150 and get the high end models of these cards with the thought that the extra money spent will be worth it should I decide to add a second GPU, more RAM, overclocking, or some other future expandability? I don't want to waste money on an expensive motherboard if the basic models will do the trick.

If you've narrowed your decision to 2 mother boards and they both have all that you would need I would say no. And I would also say....... is that extra money going to be worth the 5 or 6 extra FPS you MIGHT get ? For MYSELF I only ever bought 1 expensive mother board. Was it worth it........... I have $80 boards that give near the same performance and longevity.

MMclachlan

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2007
In my experience with my last two Nvidia boards I would say you do. I killed a P5N32-E SLI with a bad BIOS update and had 2x 8800GT so I needed a temporary SLi board. Thought I'd go with Asus' P5N-D 750i board as it was cheap but had everything I needed. With exactly the same other components as I had on the 680i I got 13k in 3dmark - 2k less than on the old board! I then was able to get a P5N-T Deluxe 780i board off Ebay cheap (for the same price as I sold the P5N-D actually!) and my score again will exactly the same components went back up to 15k.