Quick CPU + Thermal Paste Question

TheAmazingJordo

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2008
My CPU and new parts are due to arrive Thursday. I have been dreading one process, and that is installing the CPU into the Motherboard and then installing the Heatsink + Thermal Paste onto the CPU. (This is my first build, please excuse my extreme noobness, I'm just psyching myself out because of all the stories of people ruining everything during this process)

I had a few questions:
Is it easy to tell exactly how the chip goes into the MoBo? (I don't want to put it in like backwards)

When applying the thermal paste, I think I'm going to use the line method, how do I know where to apply the line? How do I know where exactly the four cores are situated so I can put it in between the rows? (I bought a Core 2 Quad Q9550 and the Sunbeam Heatsink)

What happens if I apply too little Thermal Paste? How will I know if I did?

Thanks for the help!

Fwertz

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2008
Your CPU will already come with paste on it, unless you bought it OEM. I'd use the stock cooler first and check your temps before anything else. You'll know if your CPU is sitting in wrong, because it simply wont go in.

kyeana

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
just follow the manual for installing your cpu and you should be fine, it does a straightforward job of explaining things. If you did get an aftermarket cooler then you can go to arctic silvers website and it will give you some a guide to using the line method to apply the thermal paste. Follow that and it should prove to be a sinch!