Sign in with
Your question

P5Q Pro & Vista ultimate upgrade question

Last response: in Systems
September 23, 2008 4:09:28 PM

The rest of my rig is coming in today, so tonight is a big night! I have a question though. I'm new to sata (mine is all ide still) and I don't know how many cables the mobo came with. I bought a HDD and two bunners, so I will need three sata cables, correct? Or are the sata cables like the old ide ones where you could connect two drives on one cable.

Also, I have a student version of windows ulitmate upgrade ($18!). What does upgrade mean? What do I upgrade from? XP? Also, I know ultimate has the option of 32 or 64 bit, right? So will my upgrade version have it even though it says 32 bit on the disc?
September 23, 2008 5:37:01 PM

First, SATA cables are not like the old IDE. You have to connect each SATA cable individually for each device. However, you can connect multiple drives from one power connector of the PSU, that hasn't changed.

Second, can you give a link of what OS you bought? What you have probably requires an original copy of XP to upgrade from, but I wouldn't know for sure. If it says 32 bit on the disc, then the OS you can install is 32bit. It doesn't include the 64 bit.
September 23, 2008 7:19:41 PM

So mobo's only come with two sata cables now? That sucks because I need three!

I can't send you the link bacause you'd have to logon to see it. So if it's an upgrade from XP, does that mean that I have to install XP first, and then do the upgrade? Or would it just ask me for an XP serial key?
Related resources
September 23, 2008 7:34:34 PM

The P5Q Pro comes with 4 sata cables.
September 23, 2008 8:08:28 PM

that is actually 4 sata cables in the picture. I just got my P5Q pro put together. there are two 90 degree connectors and 2 traditionals.
September 23, 2008 8:11:51 PM

Oh, haha, shows what I know.