Crackling & Distortion w/ PCI-e SB X-Fi Titanium

Clive Staples

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2008
Hi guys,

I wonder if anyone can offer any constructive advice. When I first built my system, I figured since I was only going to use two speakers I might as well not go overboard on a soundcard - but I wanted a distinct audio device so I could run WoW game sound through my speakers and a voice chat client over a headset separately. I bought a Creative SB Audigy.

I had trouble with terrible crackling and distortion in games like Crysis, and even some in WoW if there happened to be music playing. Being a hardware noob, I just figured maybe I needed a better soundcard with better hardware processing. I ordered a PCI-e SB X-Fi Titanium.

The problem was worse with the new card. I was getting the crackling and popping even in Internet Explorer; if I happened to have music playing, there'd be crackling and popping when I scroll up or down, or as each graphic file renders. I worked with Creative's support and eVGA's frustrating support (maker of my mobo) to try and resolve the issues. Eventually I flashed the motherobard's BIOS with an update, and that helped a little bit - now I don't get the crackling in my browser, and it's less pronounced in some games. Still terrible in Crysis, though, and I imagine it'll be the same in anything else that taxes the system.

Creative is more or less at a loss. They note that even though I've uninstalled everything, disabled onboard audio, and done a clean install of the new card, the system still shows it as "WDM", according to them. I'm damned if I can find out what they mean by that.

Also, they note that the soundcard shares an IRQ with the graphics card. This is true; the boot sequence shows multiple devices using IRQ 11 (including the soundcard and graphics card). If I look in Vista's device manager, I see multiple devices sharing IRQ 16 (including the soundcard and graphics card).