Your question

How to overclock memory on an MSI 790FX-GD70

Tags:
  • Memory
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
January 1, 2010 4:49:49 PM

Hi friends. I have been building systems since 1995 and I've never overclocked a single one! However, I just finished buidling a new AMD system with an MSI 790FX board and Mushkin memory (4 sticks of 2GB each, Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) - 7-7-7-20 - 1.85V - 1.95V). The processor is an AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHZ (way fast!).

I'm not interested in overclocking the processor, but I do wish to try to get the memory up to the 1600 speed and 7-7-7-20 timings. The board defaults at 1333 speed and higher (slower) timings.

I have no clue as to how to overclock the memory to 1600 and modify the timing. If anyone on here would be kind enough to share their expertise with me, I woudl be most grateful!

Thank you.

Jim.

More about : overclock memory msi 790fx gd70

January 1, 2010 4:55:30 PM

Memory multiplier? I'm sorry, but as I said, I may be able to building and configure systems, but I have no clue about overclocking, or the terminology associated with it. What I really could use is help finding a step-by-step guide navigating through the screens and making appropriate selections. Thank you anyway for your suggestion.
m
l
January 1, 2010 5:19:06 PM

In the BIOS, under Advance DRAM Configuration, and after selecting to manually configure the settings, I get three menus, each of which have the option to select "Auto," "DCT0," "DCT1," or "Both." If I select "both," there is a huge long list of timing settings to choose from. I'm just looking to modify the TCL, trcd, trp, tras, and the "IT" settings, right?
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
January 3, 2010 2:06:52 AM

jimrichardphoto said: