Do I need an Aftermarket Cooler?

esuckq

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
I'm new to overclocking and after reading up on cooling a lot recently, I'm still unsure as to whether I would actually benefit from an aftermarket cooler. Can anyone help?

I'm running an Athlon IIx4 630 on a Gigabyte GA-MA785GT-UD3H. I've overclocked to 3.5GHz (250x14) and raised the voltage to 1.55V to get it to be stable. (Nb. I've lowered my HT link, RAM etc to keep them at stock speeds) After 15 mins of Prime95 my CPU is at about 70C, which is high, but not dangerous (correct me if I'm wrong here). I don't want to raise the voltage any more for fear of frying my CPU, and if I go above 3.5GHZ, Prime95 crashes instantly. Because it crashes so quickly, am I right in assuming that this isn't a temperature issue, and that I've just reached the ceiling for my chip at this voltage? If so, a better cooler would just make my chip a bit more comfortable under load, rather than actually helping performance. Am I right here, or does running at say 40C actually increase stability relative to say 60C?

Any thoughts or advice appreciated.

esuckq

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
True, but it's never at high temps for long so it I'm not too worried about long term- just want to know whether the cooler is restricting my overclock...

I have my eye on the Cooler Master Hyper 212 +

Thanks for the reply...

ouch1

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2006
Yes but it will also make it so that the temps are more stable over time rather than temp spikes like you currently get with the stock cooler. Plus it will make it so you can increase the Oc if you feel like it.

-ouch1

esuckq

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
That's the question- will it allow me to increase the OC without having to resort to more voltage? Seems to me that temperature isn't the limiting factor here...

ouch1

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2006