Sign in with
Your question

I7-860 OC evaluation

Last response: in Overclocking
Anonymous
a b K Overclocking
January 10, 2010 9:01:27 AM

Background

Have been working on this OC for 2 days now, mostly since i am new to this. I believe i have a stable OC now (had temp issues in the start).

I would be very grateful if someone could look at my OC to see if it is ok, which OC to choose, and whether or not it can be improved further.

My main issue earlier was high temp, but this was solved by turning of hyper-threading.

Specs:

CORSAIR FULL TWR OBSIDIAN SERIES 800D
COOLERMASTER Hyper212 Plus
CORSAIR Power Supply 850W HX
CORSAIR 4GB (KIT) DDR3 1600MHz/ CL7/ DOMINATOR GT
GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD6, P55, Socket-1156
XFX HD 5970

Results :

Stock cpu without OC (Hyper-threading and turbo on)

Idle:

Load:

OC1:
QPI Clock Ratio : Auto
BCLK Frequency : 160
Turbo : On
Hyper-Threading : On
System memory multiplier : 10x
CPU Vcore : Auto
QPI/Vtt voltage : Auto

CPU Core Speed : 3520
Memory Frequency : 1600

My observations : OK temp, Low core frequency, everything on and stable

OC2:
QPI Clock Ratio : 32
BCLK Frequency : 175
Turbo : Off
System memory multiplier : 8x
CPU Vcore : 1.225

CPU Core Speed : 3674
Memory Frequency : 1400

My observations : High temp, Good core frequency, Hyper-threading still on. Was not able to OC further cause the temp got above 70 o it went unstable with lower vcore.

Decided to turn off hyper threading and experiment with turbo and BCLK.

OC3:
BCLK Frequency : 170
Turbo : On
Hyper-Threading : OFF
System memory multiplier : 10x
CPU Vcore : 1.20

CPU Core Speed : 3740
Memory Frequency : 1700

My observations : OK temp, Good core frequency, high RAM speed, perhaps abit high processor power usage (110W)

OC4:
BCLK Frequency : 180
Hyper-Threading : OFF
System memory multiplier : 8x
CPU Vcore : 1.20

CPU Core Speed : 3780
Memory Frequency : 1440

My observations : OK temp, Good core frequency, "Low" RAM speed, ok processor power usage (95W)