Advice: replacement PSU

Thcube

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2008
Hi,

I'm a hardware novice looking for some advice. I have an old HP Pavilion that I suspect has a PSU fault. When trying to boot up the pc, the PSU LED flashes continuously but the pc wont boot up. If I leave it for 5 mins, flashing stops and I can boot up ok. Removed all the connections and PSU LED is constant. Reconnected everything and LED is constant until 20-pin motherboard connection is added. HP website suggests that this means it is not a PSU fault. However, a number of forums report similar issues and state that a new PSU fixes the problem.

It currently has Bestec ATX-250-12Z Rev C (PSU) and an MS-6577 Ver 4.1 (motherboard). I've since added an additional 512 mb RAM, secondary hard-disk, and USB-devices (printer, speakers,graphics tablet).

I'm prepared to try a new PSU but this is where my lack of knowledge kicks in!

I've trawled the web and belive that the Bestec is a standard PSU i.e. no HP specific connectors. One question though, it currently has a single 8cm fan, whereas a lot of new PSUs either have 2 fans or a 12cm fan. Is this a problem?

I'm considering replacing with the PC Power & Cooling Silencer 500W EPS12V,
largely because it is available locally, single 8cm fan, same size. All output amps exceed those of the Bestec, with the exception of the +5v which is 24a compared with 25a on the Bestec. Does this matter?

Is the PC P&C over the top? Is it compatible with the motherboard? Anything else I should have thought about? Any other suggestions regarding PSU choice?

Thanks for taking the time to read this far. Any advice would be much appreciated.

K

major53

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2007
Thcube the 500 watt is a bit of a over kill for that pc.how much are you going to pay for it ,and also I believe a 380 or 400 watt would be ok.

PC Power & Cooling make some of the best psu on the market.

just don't get a psu with the Efficiency rate under 80% and you should be ok.