Sign in with
Your question
Closed

DDR3 RAM in my Gateway FX 6800-01e... Helpppp!!!!

Last response: in Memory
January 27, 2009 12:23:17 AM

Hello,

I am relatively new to RAM and have come seeking answers to what RAM would work best with my unit. I have just purchased a Gateway FX 6800-01e and have four choices for RAM.

Here are the specifications of my unit ----> http://www.gateway.com/systems/product/529668210.php?ta...

Here are my available choices of RAM for my system (via Kingston website) --> http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/models...

The computer comes with approx 3 GB of RAM (3-1024MB modules) and has three open slots for expansion (see "bank schema" section in the Kingston link I gave) and I want to add 6 GB of RAM (buy three 2GB DDR3 units out of the four choices). The thing is, I have choices between 1) 2GB DDR3-1066 DIMM and 2) 2GB DDR3-1333 DIMM. What is the difference between the two? Which is faster? Based on the Kingston site, both are compatible, but since the pre-installed 3 gigs are 1066 MhZ, does that mean I have to choose the 2GB 1066 MhZ?

Also, it notes under the Kingston link that "MODULES MUST BE ORDERED AND INSTALLED IN GROUPS OF THREE for Triple Channel mode." Does this mean I have to buy the three 2GB units (6GB total) and install them all at once or they wouldn't work? Why is this?

I know it's alot of questions, but as someone who is interested in learning about computers, I'd love to know. I want to make this computer the best it can be (within reason of course :p  )

Thanks,
Josh

P.S. You can e-mail me if you want at jbiddle21@gmail.com
February 15, 2009 11:52:07 PM

i wud like to know too i have the same computer can u email me ipheeni@gmail.com
Related resources
February 16, 2009 1:08:36 AM

something like either one of these should work... just depends on how much u want to upgrade to...
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4364413&CatId=4328