SSD with 2 HDDs - Best Partition? PLEASE HELP!

candidprints

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2010
I am a total newbe building a system and, since I'm starting out with a blank canvas, I want to do this right the first time around. This is a photo editing dedicated machine - no gaming will be done on it. I have the following to work with:

Drives:
1 - 60GB Corsair Reactor SSD
2 - Caviar Black 1TB HDDs

Windows 7 Pro 64

Software:
Photoshop CS4
Adobe Lightroom
Microsoft Office 2007

Anti Virus / Security:
ESET Smart Security 4

I want to install my OS on the SSD but I am not sure what else to do from there. The OS only takes up about 10+/- GB but needs more from what I have read. So should the SSD be partitioned with a partition for the OS with a little room, say 20GB total? If so, what else should I install on the SSD. I don't know if the anti virus is a good idea to install on the SSD since it is updated often and, from what I have read, writing and overwriting is not a good thing with a SSD. Microsoft Office sounds like a good idea since it is slow on start-up.

I also read on another thread that it may be a good idea (for the same reason) to set the OS paging files and index files to write on a hard drive rather than the SSD. Should I create a separate partition on one of the HDDs for this purpose?

Photoshop says right on the box not to install it on a SSD.

As I type this, I am thinking the following might work:
SSD - 2 partitions - the OS on one and Microsoft Office on the other.
HDD #1: 3 partitions - Photoshop, Lightroom, the anti-virus (and other misc apps) on one partition, another partition for the OS paging files and index files, and a third for hardware drivers.
HDD #2 - 2 partitions - Data files (primarily photos) on one and OS backup imaging on the other.

Does this sound reasonable or just plain stupid?
Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

Solution