Is my PSU 650watt enough for 9800 gtx+ sli OC

Speeddemon32

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2008
I have a Cooler Master eXtreme Power 650 watt its this one i got at newegg, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171014 it was on sale for 40 bucks so i bought it, but wasn't thinking that i would ever come up to two of these powerful setup, evga 9800 gtx+ sli, so i need to know if i would have enough juice or will i blow my S*#& up, i had one gtx 260 on my system before and it ran ok but i traded it in for two 9800 gtx+, my system spec is: Intel Pentium e2180 OC at 3.2ghz, 2x1 gb Patriot DDR2 800, 2 ide harddrives, 4 antec 120mm adjustable fan one that is led, Antec P180, and my psu above. thank you to whoever can help me with this in advance. i also play at 22in 1680x1050 res if that would help too, and also one more question would this setup make a difference in future proofing my computer i mean it cant future proof forever but yea just wondering if this would be not beneficial to sli or to sli a 9800gtx+, just wanted to know if i did the right hting on trading in my gtx 260 for two 9800 gtx+ for free, oh yea i have read multiple threads about power before and had seen a lot from a guy who does two GTX 260 sli and a quad oc with only a 500watt power supply so im wondering wtf hows that possible im a noob so be nice please.

EagleNine

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008
As far as the power, the PSU will deliver plenty for your current set-up. I would be wary, however, of the build quality. Take a look at the reviews on the site you've referenced alone. I've always cautioned people to invest in very high quality PSUs. If you think about it, every component in you system depends on it. If it goes, it doesn't always go quietly.

zenmaster

Splendid
Feb 21, 2006
Some CoolMaster PSUs are OK.
But this is clearly a cheap build...

#1 - Power Factor Correction (PFC): No.
This should always be active or move along.
In fact, this PSU would be illegal in Europe w/o it.