Tags:
  • New Build
  • Gaming
  • Intel
  • AMD
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
October 2, 2008 11:34:45 AM

Hi guys, I'm a newbie building a gaming system, and would like some of the experts here to review the following specs that I'm going to build. (not a overclocker) Currently I have two system in mind, 1 intel, 1 AMD:

Intel PC:

Intel Q6600 SLACR

Gigabyte GA-EP43-DS3R

CoolerMaster RP-550PCAR/CM-550WEX 550W

Corsair 2G(2x XMS2 1GB) PC-8500 (1066MHz) DDR2 RAM, 2x240-pin DIMMs, Non ECC, Unbuffered, 5-5-5-18, Dominator Airflow Fan

Gigabyte GF9800GT, 1GB, GDDR3

AMD PC:

AMD Phenom X4 9950 Quad-Core

MSI K9A2GM-FIH

Zalman CNPS9700NT

RAM, PSU and graphics card is the same as above

Really appreciate some comments and feedback. Thanks in advance.

More about : newbie building gaming system

October 2, 2008 11:48:43 AM

Welcome to the fourm!

Of the two options you list, the Q6600 build will be a little faster.
A few things you need to change, however, would be you PSU and RAM.

CoolerMaster PSU's are pretty junkey and this is one component you do not want to skimp out on.
Look at a quality 450w+ PSU from Corsair, Enermax, PCP&C, Silverstone, Seasonic or the Antec Earthwatts line.

DDR2 1066 is a waste of cash and 2Gb is bare minimum.
What you need to look at is 4Gb of DDR2 800 with 4-4-4-x timings.
It will access stored data at the exact same speed as DDR2 1066 5-5-5-x and the larger ammount will help speed you system up.

It is to bad you are not willing to overclock :( 
The Q6600 is an excellent overclocker and can easily and safely be bumped to 3.0Ghz bye changing just two fields in the BIOS. It should have no issues at this speed on stock cooling even (of course I would recommend something better).
October 2, 2008 12:04:46 PM

zhuoyan said: