Synchronous or asynchronous mode

arthran

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2010
Hi everyone.

I have been reading and learning from the forums here for a long time but this is my first time posting. I am just starting on my first build:

Asus P5QL pro
Intel E6300 2.8 1066 45nm
OCZ platinum 4x1gb sticks DDR2 pc6400
WD 500 gb blue caviar
Freezer 7 pro HSF
Coolermaster 330 Elite with 460 watt PSU + 120mm front fan + 80mm sidecase fan
HD 4350 512mb

I know ir is best to run a system on synchronous mode. However, with my system, i think it'll be a far stretch overclocking my cpu from 266mhz to 400mhz. I am willing to overclock but not too much. As my RAM runs at 400mhz, underclocking it to 333mhz could probably be acompromise. Here are the questions:

1. Ist it possible to overclok the CPU and underclock the RAM?

2. If 1 is possible, would it be a better system that way or should i just overclock the cpu to 333mhz and leave the RAM at 400mhz.

Please correct me if i'm wrong here. My RAM, although it is a 400mhz will run at 266mhz because of my cpu. But this is still not a 1:1 ratio. How can I make it 1:1.

The system will be used for heavy photo editing and I want to try Crysis. The GPU will be upgraded to HD 4670 in a few months.

Thank you.

Arthran

Arthan,

Definition time (attention purists, I'm talking about DDR2 and I'm simplifying a little :)):
Core2 CPU's use a frontside bus (FSB). The FSB is a thing with two main characteristics: speed which is usually defined in MHz and width which in the Core2's is 64 bits wide. We are concerned with the speed.

Using the Q6600 as an example, the FSB frequency is 266 MHz. The matching DDR2 memory clock for that frequency is 533 MHz (266 X 2). DDR2 memory transfers two chunks of data for each bus cycle, hence double the frequency. So, to run 1:1 at an FSB of 266 MHz, we need DDR2-533 RAM. What CPUZ does is a little confusing. It will tell you that the memory frequency is 266 MHz for a 1:1 ratio and not the memory clock.