RAID 1 disk unallocated

Frag Mortuus

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2009
Hey guys,

I have a customer that had a RAID array setup by a previous tech. They have 2 80Gb 7200RPM IDE disks in a RAID 1 config. Well they are getting a message stating that one of the drives is unallocated.

Now, Im pretty new to RAID and have never setup a RAID 1 array. So what I would like to know is:

1) Is this message popping up because one of the drives has failed?
2) If one of the drives did fail, can I just install a new drive and have RAID recreate the back up on the new disk?
3) If yes on #2, how do I make a backup on the new disk?
4) If one of the disks is bad, how do I make sure which drive is bad? I obviously dont want to remove the good drive and leave the bad one in the machine.
5) If this message is NOT because of a bad disk, how do I reallocate the drive?
6) To reallocate the drive, do I have to reformat?

Thanks for the help!

Solution
1) more likely the RAID failed - metadata that is not recognised or some other internal error; it may also be the response of the RAID engine to purposely "unallocate" a drive after it did not respond in time to some command. So it depends on what RAID engine you use; generally you would see this on Windows-based fakeRAID systems.

2) Yes, you should be able to rebuild the array by adding a new drive. The danger is that the RAID engine should not rebuild the existing drive with the data of the new drive; but should rebuild the new drive to mirror the data on the already existing drive. Make sure you follow the right steps for your specific RAID engine.

3) RAID is no backup; its called a mirror. Once you add the new drive to the...

sub mesa

Distinguished