Getting RAM stable need some help

Mr_ranting

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2010
Hi everyone. Just join the forum. this is my first attempt at over clocking. Becuase of you guys everything has gone great with a couple exceptions. Having trouble with cold boots. The system starts up abd post just fine but one i get to windows i get a bsod or just a restart crash. then when i boot back up i have no problems what so ever just trucks right along. it has been fun figuring it all out but i would like to be able to just turn it on and go instead of waiting for the crash and restarting.
Also i would like to OC my gpu but not sure how to give if a bit of a voltage bump to get it running smoth at 690+ mhz.
Any help with either of these issues would be awsome. Systems specs below

Antec 1200
Corsair 950w 80amp psu
e8400 e0 stepping @4ghz w/1.4v in Bois 1.38 in cpuz cores 43c idle 63c load
cooler master V8
FSB 445mhzx9 w/1.3v
SPP 1.45V 61c
mcp 1.6v 53c
RAM is OCZ 2gbx2 800mhz DDR2 speical ops edition @ 890 mhz 2.1v
5-6-6-21-t2 timings
BFG gtx 275 34c

adamh9

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2010
when it crashes and restarts your settings most likely default back to default CMOS values. while you are bumping your cpu you are also increasing the ram frequency which can cause this instability. try lowering your fsb and using a higher multiplier so your ram frequency doesn't end up overclocked to high.

Mr_ranting

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2010
well setting hold at crash restart. sencond time arround all setting are righting in cpuz. itle like it got to warm up like a cold blooded carbrated car engine.