Need advice on a good mobo :)

bennyy007

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010
Hello :)

Need some advice on a good solid motherboard capable for overclocking and also to get the best performance out of my current processor. At the moment I have a entry-level motherboard so I haven't overclocked my processor just for safety of my motherboard and cpu, below you will see my specs for my current build.

And I've built this pc myself so I'm no novice :D

My specs:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 Quad-Core (Black Edition) @ 3Ghz
CPU Cooler: Stock Cooler (Looking into getting a better cooler)
Motherboard: ECS-GF8100VM-M5 (NVidia Chipset nForce 720a)
RAM: 2Gb Single Channel DDR2 SDRAM (PC2-6400 800Mhz)
Case Cooling: Cooler Master Storm Scout w/ two additional fans on the side panel
Graphics Card: NVidia GeForce 8400 GS

I have come accross two motherboards that's taken to my eye, and both are within my budget but can't come to a final conclusion which will do the trick in hand.

MSI 790FX-GD70
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P

Though this may be off-subject but will a AM3 socket accept a AM2+ processor as my prcoessor only fits in a AM2+ socket ?

Also any suggestions on motherboards will be greatly appreciated :D

Thanks in advanced,
benny

bennyy007

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010

Any places where I could get it as I live in the UK i've tried Scan.co.uk but no luck...

bennyy007

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010
It does as soon as i fitted the new processor it gave me a new menu to alter the multiplier but, I tried to overclock to 3.50Ghz but can't seem to find the correct Vcore voltage to make it stable. Also I did a stress test on it when I overclocked it using prime95 and it lasted 2 hours and 15 minutes before two cores failed with rounding errors and I've read around about rounding errors and it comes down to Vcore.

Any ideas ?

bennyy007

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2010