Theoretical <$1,000 Budget (gaming) Build

JQP122

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2008
This is my first build by myself and I've had to do a LOT of research to try and catch up (probably haven't) with all the technological updates, so my main concern is if everything is compatible or not (or if I'm missing anything). So here goes!

$80 Case: COOLER MASTER RC-690

$80 Power Supply: Antec EA650 650W

$115 GPU: PNY GeForce 8800 GT 512MB

$150 Motherboard: ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

$170 CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale

$59 Memory: Kingston 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
OR
$35 (after mir) Memory: mushkin 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

Total (- shipping) Up to $655.

Recycling optical and hard drives.

I also have several other concerns:
*EDIT* Not all have to be addressed at once.
1) Initial budget: Am I overpaying for anything? I'd like to get the most "bang for my buck", if you will. If improvements can be made for little to no cost please feel free to provide more information.

2) Will I be able to game with this setup. I don't need to run crysis on high settings, but will it at least play HL2 with full HDR and maybe full settings.

3) [strike]Should I go SLI (now)? Are we at that point where SLI will be able to take full advantage of all the new games coming out (or vise versa rather) or should I wait for prices to come down a bit more.[/strike] After receiving input, I've decided it's more cost effective not to go SLI/CF. You can still try and persuade me otherwise, however.

4) Is this rig as energy efficient as possible? Most (60% or more) of the time I won't be gaming but doing homework, bsing some essay, chatting and browsing. Will I be getting a $200 electricity bill for running this machine (esp if I get SLI)? ALSO, is the ANTEC 300 better at cooling? I don't care much about looks as much as performance.