Sign in with
Your question

Trying to OC AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+

Last response: in Overclocking
January 24, 2010 1:19:52 AM

Hey guys, i'm new to overclocking so bare with me.

Tried to get a bit of extra grunt out of my CPU so I could record footage in Dragon Age without it tearing horribly even on the lower settings.

I was able to get a stableish OC of 5% using the option in the bios that did all the voltages for you.

I lurked a few forum sites including this one to find out how to do it manualy, and to find some settings for the hardware I have to remove some of the trial and error. I found a user on youtube with the same CPU and got 3.13Ghz up from the stock 2.4 using a stock cooler and tried to copy his settings.

Unfortunately this has left me where I cannot even get to the bios anymore, when I was just using trial and error it would not boot the OS but I was still able to enter the bios and fiddle some more. With these settings I don't even get that far for some reason. What I had was:

Bus Speed 200 to 240MHz
Core Voltage up to 1.362
Cool n' quiet disabled
DDR2 800MHz
RAM voltage 2.2

There were other settings of his which I wasn't sure how to change such as timings, but when I changed to these settings I was no longer able to modify my settings because it just won't boot.

Any help I could recieve to either reset it or showing me how to do it properly would be greatly appreciated, my MOBO is an ASUS m2n32-sli deluxe

More about : amd athlon 4600

a b K Overclocking
January 25, 2010 12:32:23 AM

Hey timmay, welcome!

Sorry if this won't be of any help, but let's cover the basics first, shall we? What is your GPU, and have you enabled Vsync in DA:o 's settings?
January 25, 2010 1:46:28 AM

GPU: NVIDIA 8800GTS, and as for Vsync in dragonage i'm not sure and am unable to check as the system will not boot :)  (its not the CPU overheating because it doesn't shut down, everything inside the case runs... just doesn't boot)
Related resources
a b K Overclocking