800 vs 1066 question please

AMDThunder

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2006
Mobo: GA-EP43-DS3L
CPU: E6300

Both the mobo and CPU are listed as 1066 FSB. I'm currently running 3GB of G. Skill PC6400 Ram that I'll be replacing with 2X2GB sticks. Haven't decided on the brand yet, but G. Skill has been good to me so far. Question is, what's the benefit (if any) of going with the PC8500 vs. the PC6400? I've tried reading through the FAQ at the top, and reading through posts, but haven't had any luck finding my answer.

I think I understand that there won't be much of a performance boost moving to 1066 over the 800, but doesn't it make sense if the CPU and FSB are both running at 1066? Or maybe I'm not understanding correctly. If I'm at least understanding memory correctly, I believe I'll have to manually adjust the timings to get the PC8500 to run at 1066.

I'm not a complete noob. I've been building my own rigs for a while now, and have dabbled with, and sucessfully OC'd, with pretty good results. Unfortunately, the whole memory thing continues to elude me. I'm not currently OC'd, and probably won't until I replace my CPU. I've replaced everything in my box except memory and CPU.

Thanks in advance, and WOOT 500th post!!

SpinachEater

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2007
Yeah, agreed with above. I have DDR2 800 and I am pretty sure it is running a hair over 1000 MHz at the moment. My FSB is around 430 ish so I am using an odd ball ratio...I am not at my computer for the exact numbers but they are in the ballpark. If I didn't change my ratio it would be set to 1:1 and my RAM would run at 860 MHz otherwise.

In order to get your RAM frequency over 2x of your FSB you will need to adjust the ratio not the timings. You can change the timings and keep the same RAM frequencies....they are separate.

Mondoman

Splendid