Sign in with
Your question

Best performance and price computer.

Last response: in Systems
October 9, 2008 6:28:29 AM

Hi,

I'd like to build a new system for myself. My current computer now is a 5 year old laptop, and I really haven't played with on a good computer before. Although my computer is weak, I've learnt alot of things in the past few years.

Right now I'm a programmer and computer savvy. I won't say I'm expert, but I would say I'm intermediate. I know almost everything on CPUs, motherboards, RAMs, whatever you throw at me on hardware and software.

Right now, I'll get straight to the point.

I want to build a high-end rig, and I have a budget of $4000 SGD (equals to $2726.65 USD). I want the best of the performance out of my computer (stable of course), and I plan to overclock the hell out of my CPU and VGA card.

Here's my build -

ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
HIS Radeon HD4870X2 2GB GDDR5
OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz RAM
2 Seagate's Barracuda 500GB 7,200RPM 32MB (RAID 0 configuration)
Xigmatek HDT-S1283 CPU Cooler
Cooler Master RS-850-ESBA Real Power M850 PSU
and Cooler Master Cosmo S case.

Here is my thoughts on this build.

- ASUS Rampage Formula runs both PCI-e slot @ 16/16
- A Core 2 Quad to futureproof (same FSB & 2x cache of E8400)
- 4870X2 (top-of-the-line single graphic card)
- 1066MHz are sexy (don't ask me why, I want them)
- Xigmatek HDT-S1283 CPU cooler (Tom's Hardware best yeah?)
- Cooler Master Cosmo S is sexy.
- Modular Power Supply should be enough.