System Shuts Off After 15-30 Seconds

sularus92

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2008
This is my first time posting here and I wish it were under better circumstances. I have put together a new system, here are the specs:

CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9850 2.5 GHz
MoBo: ASUS M3N78 PRO AM2+
PSU: COOLER MASTER REAL POWER PRO 550W
CPU COOLER: COOLER MASTER HYPER 212
RAM: CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB 2x2GB 1066
HDD: SEAGATE BARRACUDA 750 GB SATA 3.0
DVD: SAMSUNG WriteMaster SH-S203N

My issue (which is driving me nuts!) is that after turning the system on after 15-30 seconds the system completely shuts off. No blinking LED's just shuts completely off. I can make it to the main bios screen and that is it. I have read a couple of things online and tried putting together the basic components of the comp out side the case (RAM, CPU, and CPU COOLER) thinking perhaps I was grounding out the MoBo, it still does the same thing. My power supply has a red LED on the back that is supposed to light up if it is bad but it has never come on. Not sure what else to try. I am sure it is either the MoBo or the Power Supply. Any ideas on how I can be sure which one it is? And no I do not have access to another ATX system to try out the power supply. Please help it would be much appreciated. Thanks.

yonef

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2008
1) Does you system shuts off while you are in BIOS?
2) What Graphic card do you have?
3) Did you plug ALL power connectors to the graphic card?

On first thoughts, this sounds like a PSU problem (defective one), not sure :(

sularus92

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2008
Yes, it shuts off while I am at the main bios screen.
There is no graphic card at the moment, it has a decent on-board graphics.

steffato

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2007
Please try resitting your CPU cooler. It is probably not installed firmly on your CPU and the PC shuts itself down because of overheating.

dhvd79a

Distinguished
May 9, 2006