Is the i7 worth getting now or later?

jktstance

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2008
My older computer is almost 4 years old (back when AMD was ruling with the wonderful Athlon 3200+) but it's time for an upgrade. I understand the fastest CPU now is probably the Core i7, but it is also quite new (and somewhat expensive). It's also not very power-efficient. Do you think that future models will be better in terms of heat?

Quite honestly, my gaming monitor only goes to 1280x1024 max resolution, so the CPU isn't really that big of a deal, but I am tempted by the ability to get up to 12GB of RAM on the i7 chipsets. If it wasn't for that, I would probably just go for the Core 2 Quad. And who knows, I might upgrade my monitor in the future...

Also, I'm really new to the CrossFire and SLI technology? Is it worth the extra expense to get extra cards?

ausch30

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2007
I would suggest a Core 2 system. You could build a really nice system with a P45 chipset motherboard, a C2 Quad, and DDR2 and the money you save over the X58, i7 and DDR3 you could use to buy a new monitor. If you want to wait until spring then I might suggest the i7 because by that time there should be a better range of processors as well as mid range chipsets for use with the new chips.

SLI and Crossfire really aren't worth it, especially at your resolution. Go with the single best card you can afford.

descendency

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2008
I'm personally upgrading in Q1 2010 when the 32nm Nehalems (code named westmere) are expected to be released because my current system is good enough and the Westmere chips will likely overclock way better than the current nehalems.

I really don't understand what you plan to do with your computer though. If you are gaming, an E8500 and an HD4850 would be about as much as you need right now. If you are going to be Photoshopping or other such intensive tasks, you might want to consider an i7.