Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6300

kangkurnitz

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2010
Hello,

cpuz35119MHz.jpg

As you can see from the picture, I have my core speed at 3511.9 at 1.264 core voltage.

I only change the FSB~? (I forgot the whole term :na: ) from 266 (stock) to 333 and the FSB-RAM~? (yes!, I also forgot what its called. :na: ) from AUTO (stock ) to 1:1.20 to make it 800 (my RAM is a 2GB kingston DDR2 800).

I'm new to this kind of thing and just wanted to try, so everything is on default. The only thing I change are the 2 said option above.

I didn't "tweak" the advance setting option in the bios regarding this stuff because I'm afraid I might break the whole PC.

Will this kind of settings be bad for the PC? and will it be fine that I didn't change the the voltages.

Thanks~!

Solution
If there is no option to adjust the Vcore you are done OCing that chip. (at least on that board.) The slightly faster CPU will be slightly faster, but I doublt you'd be able to feel it.

You are overclocking the RAM. Overclocking RAM does not really contribute much to increased performance. It can contribute to instability, and it may limit you CPU overclock.

Overclocking RAM:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/251715-29-ratio-myth

Try dropping the ratio to 1:1 and see if you can push the CPU overclock farther.

kangkurnitz

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2010
Hi,

I did what you said. I set my FSB to RAM ratio to 1:1, but I can only get my FSB Frequency from 333 to 341. After that it fails.

Here is what I got from cpuz.

CPU
cpuz35809.jpg

MEMORY
cpuz35809-Memory.jpg

Once again, the only thing I changed is the FSB Frequency and FSB:RAM Ratio.

Will this setting make any difference? Is there a way to make this better or this is what all I can get from my motherboard? BTW, here is my motherboard: http://asia.msi.com/index.php?func=prodmbspec&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=170&cat3_no=&prod_no=1833

Thanks~!

flyin15sec

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2008
You have nice overclock going there.