Ulti

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2009
Hi, I'm new to computers... Stuck with a Dell atm but I was wondering, what would be cheap to upgrade but also worth it.

The last time I upgraded, I managed to get a 256MB (Well displays as 512MB in dxdiag) low profile MSI 8600GT for my B-ATX Dell along with Corsair XMS2 2GB 800Mhz RAM for my PC. However, it is using only an AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Processor. I haven't overclocked as I realised that I will need better cooling and with my case, I can't really install any better cooling as it is a Media PC case. I will get a new case if I get a new processor as I will need a new mobo in doing so.

I'm not really that much of a hardcore gamer nor am I a hardcore user but I do play games. I'm on the pc a lot though so I tend to multitask with music, games and sometimes photoshopping or just web browsing. When I do play games it's usually games like Left 4 Dead and other non-hardware intensive games.

I just wondered what would see the biggest improvement with an upgrade. I am on a budget though (students are poor T_T) so I can't exactly get an Q6600 + 8800GT or something lol. But my final question though is whether or not it's even worth it to upgrade for me as I'm not wanting to play Crysis on 1980x1670 or whatever xD I play games at 1280x1240 and that's about as far as my graphics go.

Oh and btw, I am using Windows XP 32 bit so I don't think upgrading RAM helps too much as I've heard 2GB is the right amount, not too much and not too little, just right. I've also heard that the 8600GT is pretty good for games such as those that run on the Steam engine and those MMORPGs and that the 3800+ is old but isn't much of a bottleneck to the 8600GT so I was thinking maybe I don't need to upgrade? I dunno... opinions please!

Thanks in advance!

if you will be upgrading motherboard you have to do clean install of windows too. so you have some back up to do....