Sign in with
Your question

bluescreen on a new system

Last response: in Systems
October 12, 2008 8:15:04 AM

Hey guys...
I currently suffer from this problems and i'm not quite sure what have turned wrong on my new system since i'm still a newbie in this area.

My systems are:
-ASUS P5N32E SLI PLUS
-Intel Q6600 2.40GHz,standard not overclocked
-Cooler Master Sphere CPU cooler
-320GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II
-Thermaltake 400W PSU ATX 12V
-Gigabyte NVidia 9600gt 1GB GDDR3 NX96T (GV-NXT1GHP)
-DDR2 4096Mb Patriot 800MHz kit of 2 PDC24G6400ELK Dual Channel memory
-DVD-RW
all fits in a Thermaltake WingRS ATX case with 1 opt 80mm fan

-I'm suspecting that the PSU is not enough...but from what Asus PSU calculator says,i'm good to go.
-Then everytime when i turn-on my system,it will make a high-pitched sound at first but then dissappeared after quite some times.
-I've already installed many OS-es but it turned out the same...now i'm running on Vista Black Edition 32-bit.
-I've installed the latest BIOS.
-I can't connect to the internet using my Ethernet cable.Maybe a usb wireless adapter will work?

Please...i'm running out of ideas...and i don't want to send it to the computer service before i know what's wrong with it.

More about : bluescreen system

October 12, 2008 1:31:02 PM

Never buy a PSU based on it's wattage alone. It's a complicated item that requires careful selection.

Unless you provide more information, I can't say anything definite about your PSU. Thermaltake has been known to sell some good PSUs, and some junk. The only PSU I'm aware of from them at 400W was a "litepower" that is probably junk. Inadequate amps on the 12V rail for your card, as well.

Now that I have that out of my system...

It's not a great MB. The chipset has known issues.

-This high pitched sound... it's likely a fan going. If you had a stethoscope or could borrow one you could isolate it.

The Ethernet is a separate issue.