Sign in with
Your question

Choppy/Sluggish but good fps/ping

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 9, 2008 9:15:12 AM

Im really irritated by this problem for over a year now. Basically, i get 100fps STEADY / 20 ping / 100hz ... BUT theres really noticeable random chops/sluggishness (very noticeable especially in competitive fps: quake 3, q4, cs 1.6). Its not a virus/spyware that kind of deal (ive reformated many times and tried it fresh) or net-related (ive tried against bots offline). In cs 1.6, the game feels choppy and slow, and the recoil is terrible, even offline its noticeable. When i spectate people, they also look choppy (client sided; i see them choppy, theyre not actually choppy). In quake series, the game is choppy and tears some as well. The shots feel very "lagged" and delayed as if i had 200 ping.

I've been gaming and been around computers for over 7 years now ... so i've pretty much tried all the common fixes. This is all i can remember right now

.Vsync
.changed many video settings (anti aliasing, performance, quality, threaded optim, etc etc)
.drivers (ive tried over 15 drivers : nvidia, ngo, dna, 80's, 90's 100's, etc)
.updated bios/chipset
.messed with refresh rate
.tried different video card (This happens on my brothers 7600gs, as well as MY 7600gs, and also on a mx420)
.checked cpu/gpu temps (cpu : 45 load, gpu: 60 load)
.messed with bios settings
.virtual memory
.reformated countless times
.dual core hotfix / affinity force one core

Thats all i can remember for now, anyone have any ideas?

win xp pro sp3
e6300 duo core
ga-945p-s3
ax400-pn FORTRON
PNY 7600gs 512mb / geforce 4 mx420

a c 88 U Graphics card
November 9, 2008 10:36:06 AM

Consider upgrading to a faster and newer generation of gpu imo
November 9, 2008 10:54:07 AM

Why? I run 100fps with BOTH cards. Counter strike isnt a very demanding game, neither is quake3. Q4 is debateable with my 7600gs but the fact that theres a problem with choppyness shouldnt be ignored.