CPU Voltage: 1.28
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.82
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage: 1.28
IOH: Auto
IOH PCIE Voltage: Auto
ICH Voltage: Auto
ICH PCIE Voltage: Auto
DRAM Bus Voltage: 1.6

-> Skipping all the DRAM Ref Voltages (They are all set to auto)

Load-Line Calibration: Enabled
CPU Differential Amplitude: Auto <-- Leave that alone
CPU Clock Skew: Auto <-- Leave that alone
IOH Clock Skew: Auto <-- Leave that alone
PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disable

When I ran the system, the cpu temp was 48-50c. When running a game (Modern Warfare 2) it went to 51-53 c. The system shut down and at startup I saw the message ( CPU Too Hot!).
Any suggestions if I sould be overclocking it at all? I created the system with components so I could overclok it. I have ZERO experience in overclocking.
January 31, 2010 6:40:49 PM

Crickets.....

Wow. Not even an insulting post on how big of a nube I am.....LOL

m
l
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
January 31, 2010 6:55:20 PM

you need to run prime 95 to see how hot it will get. Run that and report back with the temps.

And not the cpu temps, the core temps.
m
l
Related resources
January 31, 2010 6:56:41 PM

Run Prime 95 before trying the overclock again? When I tried to run Prime 95 @ 3.6 the system crashed.
m
l
January 31, 2010 7:15:28 PM

Ok running prime 95 at 2.6 here are the temps:

CPU: 84c

Core 0: 94c
Core: 1: 94c
Core: 2: 99c
Core: 3: 99c
Core 4: 88c
Core 5: 88c
m
l
January 31, 2010 7:37:23 PM

bad bad bad temps. Reseat your heatsink and apply new paste
m
l
January 31, 2010 7:42:14 PM

Is this a result of bad assembly?
m
l
January 31, 2010 7:55:08 PM

lol you will burn your cpu with that temps. and i am sure that is result od bad assembly
m
l
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
January 31, 2010 8:25:25 PM