Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Massive V-Drop on P5Q SE 2, need help

Last response: in Overclocking
January 31, 2010 9:57:52 PM

Hello,
I am currently running my q6600 (G0) on my P5Q SE2 at 3.2 ghz (400X8) but I really want to try and get to that magical 3.6 (400X9)

Currently to maintain a stable 3.2ghz I need to have my bios voltage at 1.35 but it registers only 1.28 in windows and drops to 1.18 on load

When attempting 3.6 Ill set voltage up to 1.55 in the bios to just get 1.41 in windows and yet it drops till to 1.3 on load thus crashing prime95

I mean I admit I am not an expert when it comes to over clocking but doesn't that seem really ridiculous? Any suggestions?

System Specs
Corsair 850 Watt
q6600 (G0)
P5Q SE2 (latest bios)
6gbs ram (2X4, 2X1)
HD 5850
Temps solid all the way around

Thanks for all the help

More about : massive drop p5q

a b å Intel
a c 197 K Overclocking
January 31, 2010 11:45:45 PM

I'd agree. I think that anything over about .05 volts is excessive.
m
l

Best solution

January 31, 2010 11:54:46 PM

That looks to be a cheaper motherboard. It's probably not good for higher overclocks on quad core cpus, as you've found out. You should get a better motherboard that uses a 8-pin cpu power plug, instead of only 4-pin. It'll be able to supply the power needed with less v-droop.
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
February 1, 2010 1:05:22 AM

TBH i usually disable Vdroop when im overclocking. But your are not setting what the voltage is going to be. You are setting the termination voltage which means that that is the highest voltage it will ever go under any circumstances.
m
l
February 1, 2010 9:22:36 AM

Thanks all for the responses but seriously overshocked don't write on forums if you don't understand the stuff yourself...

First off you obviously have no idea what Vdroop is