Failed Overclock

Arunabha42

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2010
My system specs is as follows:
XFX 630i/GeForce 7100 mobo(mATX)
Intel's C2D E7200@2.53 GHz (266.5x9.5)
2GB Transcend DDR2 ram 667 MHz.
500GB Seagate ST3500620AS(not so sure about the number)
HPdvd1035 drive
450W PSU that came with the case.
Intel's stock heatsink and fan.

I'm a complete noob at overclocking. I liked the idea of overclocking and thought I'd try it out to see how well it worked. I went into my bios and saw that my fsb was at 1066MHz(quad-pumped). Though the muliplioer showed 9 CPU-Z showed 9.5. I just wanted to overclock, try it out and go back to my original settings because I dont have proper cooling. I first increased my fsb to 1280(320x4). My comp booted perfectly and everything was fine. My cpu's new speed was 3.04GHz. It was running hotter than before. I checked it and rebooted my comp. I was quite happy that it worked, so I tried it a bit further. This time increased th fsb to 1400-something MHz, forgot exactly what. This time it did not boot. So I reset the bios using the jumper and it worked. I know I should have left it, but curiosity got the better of me and i tried again after a few days. This tie just to be sure, I tried 3GHz and it worked. Now I set my fsb to 1440 and the same thing hapened, wouldn't boot. So I tried to reset the bios using the jumper, didn't work, removed battery, didnt work. Kept the jumper reset overnight , didnt work. Some month back, the same thing used to happen, that time i had never overclocked. My comp mechanic had said that something might be wrong with my ram. Other components are working absolutely fine. So, now I'm wondering if it's the overclock or the ram...Please Help!

videl

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2009
If you want to check your ram, check your ram sticks one at a time...take all of them out and check each one in the motherboard...