Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Q6600 PSU and MBM-5

Last response: in Overclocking
February 2, 2010 3:32:29 PM

Newbie here.... just bought a used and never clocked q6600 Asus P5k and hooked it up to my PSU which is a 700w Rockfish.

Installed MBM 5 and CPU-Z and the first thing I run into with MBM-5 set up is the volt reading on what is supposed to be 2.5 volts - the main volt line..... mine reads 2.3v and this is the first temp reading or core 0 I think. the next volt reading is 3.4 volts. working through the MBM-5 set up instructions, it seams that my 2.3v should be 2.5 and my 3.4v should be more like 2v or even less.

right off the start I have no idea if this right, and now I suspect my PSU is bad/weird/wrong. Before I start any tweaks i would like get past this hurdle. Another thing... my PSU specs are hard to read - have to take the darn thing out to find what my amp rating is... I assume/hope that this 700w model has the amps I need/want which is at or above 30 if i read the guides correct.

I don't want to super overclock this thing - I do some video and photo editing and if I can tweak a few things to get safely to 3.0 (or whatever) Then I can claim clocking brag rights and be member of Club OC and hopefully improve my processing times editing..... also, I have a Zalhman fan cooler, haven't done anything yet and I run 22-24c.

Don't know why my fan stopped registering - it was registering yesterday. another issue i guess....

More about : q6600 psu mbm

a b K Overclocking
February 2, 2010 4:30:18 PM

WOW dude!

So normally a PSU has some difference between the voltage it is supposed to be providing and the voltage coming out of it. Like my +12v rail gives off something like 12.2v. Your rails are supplying really bad voltages. If this is a new build i would recommend buying a PSU tester to see if those reading sure correct. If they are correct return the PSU and buy a more reputable brand like corsair.