DDR3 1333(O.C.)/1066/800

HardWally

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2010
Hi all,

thanks in advance for any help provided.

I have a question regarding the Mobo, i'm looking at, and predominantly the RAM it supports.

P5P41T LE
e6500

I understand a little bit from what I have read, about O/C and understand a little about the concept, however I have no practical knowledge.

My questions are

-upon installing DDR3 1333 memory, I'm assuming I will need to Overclock something.
I'm assuming it wouldn't be the RAM, because its already 1333. I think it would be the FSB.

I would love to think it would clock automatic, but it probably won't

So, if possible please explain how difficult this will be. If it is relatively simple, please point me in the right direction of how to go about it.

Cheers

Solution
Either the RAM or the CPU will have to adjust itself to the other's settings.

For example:
In your case, the E6500 has a 1066 MHz FSB. That means 266 MHz x 4 (because the FSB is quad-pumped, don't ask me why). Now, your RAM is running at around 667 MHz (1333 effectively). Notice that if you multiply 266 by 5, you get 1333. There you go. That means your processor will work fine the way it is.

If ever you decide to overclock, I suggest you give attention to the CPU. The RAM gives virtually no increase in performance in games, and gives a negligible performance increase in video encoding/photoshop/similar. The RAM frequency will be automatically adjusted to "sync" to the CPU's frequency.

gracefully

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2010
Either the RAM or the CPU will have to adjust itself to the other's settings.

For example:
In your case, the E6500 has a 1066 MHz FSB. That means 266 MHz x 4 (because the FSB is quad-pumped, don't ask me why). Now, your RAM is running at around 667 MHz (1333 effectively). Notice that if you multiply 266 by 5, you get 1333. There you go. That means your processor will work fine the way it is.