First Build Questions

freezekill

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2008
Ok, so I've decided a few things about this build, but I still need some help. This will be mainly for gaming since my now obsolete MBPro cannot handle stuff so well anymore. This is my first time plus I have no experience overclocking, but would love to get into it. Here's a newegg wishlist detailing what I've picked so far https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=10898588 . None of that is set in stone though so feel free to make suggestions. So, my biggest question is the motherboard. I want to be able to overclock it because I'll be keeping the E8400 until games actually make use of 4 cores.

-I'm looking to spend around ~1000usd
-I don't want to spend a full 1000 again in a year, but want to upgrade a component or two to keep up
-that being said, my motherboard questions are infinite
-Since I'm only going to upgrade my CPU after quad cores are used by games (in the future), and the new i7 series form Intel isn't going to use a FSB, I'll need to upgrade my mobo at that time too.
-Given that, should I invest in a mobo w/ Crossfire + one w/ DDR3 ? or just wait to get DDR3 when I next upgrade my mobo
-I wouldn't get DDR3 now at all, just good 'ole PC6400 DDR2 until later on

In essence, what do you think the timing will be? would I be needing a quad core or DDR3 sooner?

Is Crossfire worth investing in at all? Should I just cough up the dough for a 1GB 4870 GDDR5 now? or invest another 4850 in a year or so when its price goes down and have 2?

thanks so much.

Zenthar

Distinguished
You seem to be in a situation similar to mine a few months ago.

Here is my opinion:
■DDR3 won't give a boost in performance any time soon; it will do falsely so with i7 because of the integrated memory controller, but that is something else.
■The cost of a CF MB + 2nd card might exceed the cost of just upgrading the card and selling the old one...