Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Are these temps ok? (Core i7 stock cooling, 84 degress on full load)

Last response: in Overclocking
February 11, 2010 9:37:30 AM

Hello folks, before I started doing some light OC, I wanted to make sure that my system was stable at stock settings, without any after market cooling devices.

My h/w specification goes like this:

CPU - Core i7 920 D0 Stepping 2.67 GHz
Motherboard - MSI Pro-E
RAM- Corsair 6 Gb kit 1333 MHz 1.5V
Video card- Nvidia 9500 GT 1 Gb
Hard drives- WD 500 Gb X 2
Operating system- Ubuntu 9.10 64 bit
PSU- Corsair VX450W

I ran Mprime (the linux port of Prime95) for an hour without any issues. The temperatures were as follows:

Idle: CPU: 25-26
IOH: 64

Load: CPU: 84
IOH: 77

I know that IOH temps are high at idle(known issue among MSI Pro-E boards), but am getting an Antec Spot Cool fan to fix that.

However what I want to know is that at full load, isn't the CPU temp too high ? My system didn't crash, but since I am new to this subject, please let me know what you think.
Also, is there a possibility of slightly OCing the system, say up to 3 GHz, with the stock cooler, or should I start saving for a good CPU cooler ?
February 11, 2010 11:13:11 AM

open up your side panel and see if it improves temps. Make sure your cooler is fitted onto the motherboard. Alos save for a good coler like the hyper 212+, It's 30 dollars and offers great cooling for i7

Best solution

a b à CPUs
a c 125 K Overclocking
February 11, 2010 12:08:00 PM

Dont even think about overclocking with a stock cooler, 84C is way to hot!, Keep it under 73C, also your IOH is very got, what case do you have?

Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus is a good budget cooler and will do alot better than the stock cooler. Make sure you invest in some quality thermal paste too, like Arctic Silver 5.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a c 125 K Overclocking
February 11, 2010 12:08:43 PM

Hot** Not got :lol: 
February 11, 2010 2:02:09 PM