Your question

Problems building new computer

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Graphics Cards
  • Computer
Last response: in CPUs
January 14, 2009 6:08:25 PM

OKay so I work in the IT industry and I thought I would try building my first computer. So here is the main pieces that I bought for my system:

750 Silencer Quad Power supply - SLI certified
eVGA 9600 GSO dual slot video card
XFX 8200 Motherboard with Hybrid SLI
4 GB of SLI-ready Ocz memory
AM2 Core 2 duo Processor.
I have Vista Business, two hard drives 1 is 250 GB and the second is 500 GB.
When I use the 9600 GSO video card and boot into windows, the computer freezes after about a minute or some times less than that. Some times it doesn't freeze, it shuts off the video to the monitor, like it's going to restart yet the computer doesn't restart. There is just no video and it stays like that.
I suspect the issue is the video card, (and this would be my second time RMA'ing a video card from eVGA on this issue. However I have heard that XFX motherboards are not that great of quality and so that could be it.
If I take out the video card, and use the internal video, the computer works fine, with no problems and no hiccups. That's great, except I built this computer specifically to have a nice video card in there.
The things I have tried with drivers are using drive sweeper to get all the drives off there and just using the video driver from EVGA's website. I also tried the same thing and getting the video card from Nvidia's website. I've tried ever obvious thing to do here. I put in a different video card, a much lower one, such as an Nvidia GeForce 7300 GS and that worked fine, no problem. I thought it was a power issue, so when I put the new power supply in I expected the problem to be fixed, however still having issues. Any ideas?

More about : problems building computer

January 14, 2009 6:30:17 PM

Sounds like a video card problem if your able to hook up an older model into it and see video.