Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Ram speeds

Last response: in Overclocking
February 12, 2010 5:44:51 AM

I'm fairly new at overclocking, so sorry if I ask something trivial :-)

Gear: i7-860, Asus P7P55D-E Pro board, 4Gigs of 1600MHz RAM

I think I managed to get a stable OC at 160 BCLK, but I have a question concerning the RAM.
My RAM is rated at 1600MHz, with 8-8-8-24 timings at 1.65V,
So this is what I filled in in the BIOS. The 160BCLK allowed me to pick a ratio that brings my RAM speed right at 1600MHz.

The thing is though, that my motherboard's software (at runtime in OS) can make my BCLK go in "Turbo" mode (+5MHz). This of course lifts my RAM speeds up to +/- 1650MHz.
Is this dangerous? I read some forums where people said, never to go over your rated RAM speeds. So should I really downclock my BCLK speed to 155MHz, just to make sure that the "Turbo" doesn't drive my RAM speed above 1600MHz?

More about : ram speeds

February 12, 2010 8:46:36 AM

Dangerous in what sense? Your PC wouldn't explode. but it may cause memory errors. I assume you ran memtest86+ numerous times? Without this utility, you should not attempt any overclocking at all.

I'm also assumng you know how to stress test your CPU, to verify the system is running rock stable with the selected settings. Also, you do know memory performance is a non-issue these days?
February 12, 2010 9:07:25 AM

Thanks for your reply.

I did indeed verify my system is stable, by running some long Prime95 tests.

I have memtest86+ and ran it, but I'm not sure when to use it. I mean, it's a non-windows program, so it would only be able to test my RAM at the rated speed (1600MHz). Which would still not prove if I can run it without errors if its gets to 1650MHz in windows (because of the "turbo" mode). Correct me if I'm wrong please.