Sign in with
Your question

Need Advice on Component Upgrades Please !

Last response: in Systems
October 22, 2008 1:45:29 AM

Hi guys :) 

I'm looking to update my system and I have around £700 (approx $1250) I'm hoping u guys could help me decide finally on what do. I have a few questioons that together I cannot find answers that help me settle on a few things. I've been doing all my upgrading for years, but don't follow the industry as much as I used to when I worked in the computer business. The PC is used purely for gaming apart from general use so this is the main consideration. Also I guess I won't be upgrading for another 18 months or so after this. please also bear in mind that I've never overclocked and at least for a while won't be and thus am interested moreso in stock performance.

I am currently running an intel E6300 @1.86ghz, 4gb 667mhz kingston value ram (On WinXP32 bit so only 3.37gb is recognised) and a BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640mb factory OC. I want to upgrade my cpu/MB, gcard and monitor, as I'm still on a max 1280x1024 dell TFT. I am stuck as to whether to get a top end dual core like an E8400/E8500 or entry level quad Q6600. I am also looking at a EVGA Geforce 9800GTX+, and a 24" 1920x1200 monitor. I have trawled through the forums and read the ups and downs of these components but what I would like to know which would be the best combination. I've also decided on an Asus P5Q-E Motherboard, and a Thermaltake Toughpower 750Watt PSU as my current 500W wouldn't cut it.